What I Wore to Pride (The Weekend Edition ;)

A few months ago I was at a friend’s party and in my slightly-tipsy-Fruli-induced-state, I befriended a lovely couple of women who apparently found me to be as funny as I was finding myself, and the over the next couple of days, they found me over Facebook.

A couple of months after that, after chatting back and forth online, I had them over for dinner.

And the subject of gay pride came up.

And it was quickly decided that I needed to join them.

I was scheduled to be in Ottawa as of yesterday with Clara, but changed my plans so that I would leave tomorrow instead, and told the lovely ladies that I could at least join them for Friday night (dinner), stay overnight, and join them for brunch and the march that afternoon.

Of course, what I was going to wear for gay pride was something I took very seriously, at least for the Friday evening and I even went so far as to text my girlfriends photos of different tops.

This is the result – what I wore to dinner and then to brunch and the march the next day.

20130629-214828.jpg
Top: Joe Fresh
Jeans: Old Navy
Shoes: Anne Michelle

20130629-215329.jpg

I bought those fluorescent yellow jeans off the clearance table when I went in to buy flip flops last week. They were $4.

20130629-215434.jpg

Jacket: Guess

They were calling for rain for most of Friday and Saturday, so I brought along a jacket just in case. This Guess jacket is probably one of my favourite pieces of clothing that I own. The good news? It didn’t rain at all, either Friday night or Saturday.

20130629-230605.jpg

20130629-223943.jpg
So this is not something that many people know about me (because at work I’m so outgoing and sociable, ha!) but I still get really, really shy around large groups of people and the shyness doesn’t dissipate until I have a couple of drinks and I start to get comfortable. And sometimes, when I’m in a big crowd of people, I get overwhelmed (because it can be overwhelming) and I escape to the restrooms which is what I did last night. And may or may not have some spent time hanging out in the stall texting and taking self-portraits for this blog.

(Ignore the mark on my lip in the above photo. I may or may not have hit myself in the mouth with my phone. Because I’m just that *clumsy*).

20130629-224725.jpg

The restroom had a very nice upholstered chaise that I eventually transferred too. And when I was feeling brave confident relaxed enough, I returned to the dinner party.

Yes, I can be that shy.

20130629-225021.jpg

Pants: XCVI
Tank: Old Navy
Jacket: Jessica Simpson
Flip flops: Old Navy

For brunch and the march the next day, I wanted to be casual and comfortable and despite the call for rain, I ignored the jeans I packed and went with the white linen wide-legged capris I bought while in Vegas and have been dying to wear (work has a no capri policy).

20130629-225517.jpg

I wore my hair up until we got on Church and I suddenly, inexplicably wanted it down. I’m guessing it was all the free spirits I was amongst, a tight pony tail just wasn’t cutting it.

So I pulled my hair free and instantly felt much better.

20130629-225836.jpg

And that’s what I wore to gay pride.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

