Perspective

I got pulled into a meeting at the end of my day that kept me at work later than normal. On the way home, I texted to say I’d be late and to go ahead with dinner without me. I had to make a quick stop at Winners for a couple of things to get ready for the work holiday party tomorrow night and in the line, I complained on Facebook that the lineup to pay was taking longer than the time required to find the things I needed.

I honked at a driver that cut me off in the parking lot leaving and cursed under my breath when I approached the train tracks and saw the flashing lights as an oncoming train arriving at the station.

20121128-232014.jpg

And then it struck me. That I could be on that train, arriving home from working downtown. That I could be getting home after 6:30 every night, and not getting to spend as much time with Clara as I currently do.

Tonight was a one off. I rarely ever have to stay late at work and the need to run an errand on a specific day for a specific event is rare.

Most days, I’m home at 5:30, and lately, Clara’s been waiting at the door, eager to ask me how my day was.

And I’m eager to hear how hers was, too.

I’m so very fortunate.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

