What I’m Wearing: Color

We’ve had a few grey and foggy days this week and so I did my best to brighten up my days with a bit of color in my wardrobe.

(And yes, I’m aware that the mirror in which I’m taking shameless self-portraits is completely and utterly covered in toddler-size smudges. The reason? She thinks it’s great fun to take the suds from our bubble baths and clean the mirror with them. Hard to argue with that logic.)

Green

20121123-000340.jpg

I picked this green dress up at Winners early this year when I knew I’d be going back to work. I couldn’t quite get up the nerve to wear it as a dress (it’s not that it’s short, but that it’s short and err form fitting). The other day I saw it in the closet with the tags still on, and decided to wear it as a top, with it folded under. I think it worked – and I liked it enough to send it off to my tailor to have her permanently alter it to shirt length. And as much as I love wearing dresses, in this particular case, I’ll wear it more as a shirt. (Can you picture it in the summer with white jeans and strappy sandals? Ooh!)

Green dress/top: Winners
Black pants: Guess
Boots: Fluevog

Orange

20121123-000907.jpg

The orange bag showed up – a belated gift from Jody in the UK and I immediately began mentally inventorying my wardrobe to figure out what I could wear with it. I’m not a huge fan of orange and black (I immediately think Halloween but orange and grey? That’s fall to me.) I was pretty sick all day at work the day I wore the grey sweater over the black dress and the orange of this bag did wonders in cheering me up.

Grey sweater: Target
Black dress: Le Chateau
Grey tights: Calvin Klein
Black boots: Fluevog
Orange bag: Bessie (UK)

20121123-070526.jpg

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

