My Life in Bags

I spend a lot of my time at my job reading the news – whether it’s staying on top of what’s happening in the schools, and at the school boards, and/or monitoring potential teacher strikes, as well doing endless (it seems) research for the articles that I’m writing for the work blog, banking as many articles as I can for when we go live in the fall. There’s a lot of news that comes through my newsfeed, and more and more I’ve become one of those people that share it to Facebook, especially when something strikes me as particularly interesting.

A couple of weeks ago I stumbled across this article/blog/column in the NY Times called “The Busy Trap” and I in particular highlighted the following:

20120721-075116.jpg

And you know what? As hard as I’ve tried to keep things going at a slow, manageable pace, to avoid that feeling of constantly being busy, it’s seems to be taking over. As much as I fight it.

The other day when I went out to the car to go to work, I paused in loading my car with the bags I take to work with me most days. These bags:

20120720-233915.jpg
The purple bag is my lunch bag, and most nights after putting Clara to bed, I spend a good half hour preparing my lunch and snacks for the next day. I’m eating a lot of salad lately, Greek salad especially, with the usual olives and feta, tomatoes, cucumber, red onion, avocado, greens and turkey or chicken. I make my own dressing with so much garlic it could kill someone and red wine vinegar, a good quality olive oil and oregano. That’s lunch and I probably take over a pound of fruit to work with me each day for snacking: grapes, watermelon, strawberries, blueberries, orange slices. This week I’ve had a bit of a break from packing lunches however, and actually had lunch out with coworkers 4 days out of 5. I’m becoming Miss Popularity, though how that’s happened I’m not sure.

The green bag usually has my swim gear in it – after 8 years at Goodlife, I’ve joined this glossy, luxurious monstrosity:

20120720-234811.jpg

Two lane pools, one outside and in, 2 large leisure pools again one outside and in, with water slides, deck loungers and a cafe outdoors. A 60 foot rock climbing wall, state of the art spinning and yoga studios, an incredibly equipped (and structured) daycare, a spa and salon, saunas, steam rooms, jacuzzis. A nurse on site as well as a dietician. I’m super excited about the spin studio and the rock climbing wall, but Clara and I have been spending a lot of time outside by the pool after work. And I’ve decided to use my membership promo ‘dollars’ to purchase a few private swim lessons so I can finally learn some proper technique for doing fast and efficient laps in the pool.

The red bag next to my swim bag is my dry cleaning bag and two things regarding that:

1) I still love the smell of a dry cleaners after all those years of working at one
2) I’ve become one of those people that drop dry cleaning off on a fairly regular basis; in my case, it’s cute, sleeveless summer dresses that show off my arms and my legs.

The centre red bag is my gym bag, which I bring to work on Mondays and take home on Fridays so I always have workout clothes with me if I don’t have lunch plans and I can get in a quick run on the treadmill at work or, if the weather’s cool outdoors. I need to dial back the socializing at work a bit; last week I got in one lunch hour run and another pre-work run at Lifetime and that’s just not cutting it.

Then the red leather bag, which is my regular bag, which may or may not have the iPad in it (I agreed to be a friend of a friend’s “day of wedding coordinator”, and we had a meeting this week after work to go over somethings. I’m getting paid to do it, and I may or may not use the extra income to buy these this weekend:
20120721-000140.jpg

Or these:

20120721-000230.jpg
Or these:

20120721-000302.jpg

And that’s my life, in bags.

God damn it. How did I let myself get this busy?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

