Heigh Ho Heigh Ho

After taking an extended parental leave that lasted 2 years, 2 months, 3 weeks and 3 days (so almost 2 1/4 years), I’m heading back to work tomorrow.

Tomorrow. In less than twelve hours.

The decision to return to work was not an easy one. In fact, I blogged about not returning to work just five months ago here.

I’ve been asked a few times what motivated my desire to return to work. Nothing has changed between Clara and I, I still enjoy every single minute of every hour and every day we spend together. I don’t need a “break” from her. She’s still (and always will be) my favorite girl. But my father-in-law agreed to relocate here if I wanted to return to work and there’s certain realities to being a single income family. Such as we can survive, and still even afford the once (or twice) a year modest vacation and dinners out, but it’s difficult saving money on one income. And we’ve got someone else’s future to plan for. So there’s that.

There’s also that little nagging feeling I’ve been getting (and ignoring) late at night when I toss and turn and can’t sleep and I’ve been hearing an insistent little whisper asking me if this is it. If there’s not more.

There had to be more, I realized, and as much as Clara fills my life exponentially, it’s not her responsibility to do it 24/7. That’s a lot of pressure to put on such a little person.

And well, I did say I’d return to work for the right opportunity. Something close to home, less stress, part-time if I could find it.

I found it.

I’ll be coordinating the communications and social media for a large child care organization, 20 minutes from home. It’s a junior position, one which I had to convince those interviewing me was exactly what I wanted and it’s doing what I love to do most. Writing. Blogging. How refreshing, I confided to my husband afterwards, to interview for a job which consisted of the things I love to do in my free time. At the same time, how nerve-wracking to have to provide samples of my blogging and know that those posts could determine whether or not I got that particular job.

And yet I did.

I got the job.

And I start tomorrow.

Tomorrow.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Heigh Ho Heigh Ho

  1. jods2527 says:

    You’ll do great! Have fun x

  2. alboschetto says:

    I find it interesting that you qualify it as a junior position. Just sayin’.

Leave a Reply

