Because Skinny Girls Can Be Mean

On Pinterest earlier this evening, I saw this:

20120319-001605.jpg

The person pinning it said in their caption something about the say no to being a zero campaign and suggested that women should forget the scale and focus instead on healthy nutrition and trust the body to take care if itself.

And a responding comment? “Jealous fat girls.”

Is it at all possible that there are women and girls out there that don’t want to be skinny because ummm, guess what? There’s an awful lot of skinny girls out there that are mean, in an ugly way. And their meanness makes them ugly. Regardless of how small a size they are.

The pin is trying to raise awareness for a media campaign that UK model Katie Green launched in 2009 to “to put a stop to the fashion industry using size zero models or models with an unhealthy BMI (under 18.5) on the catwalk, in major advertising campaigns and in fashion in general. Having been told to lose weight myself, I feel that I have a duty to fight for the curvier woman. Fashion designers and clothing brands target young impressionable teenage girls and make them feel uncomfortable about their weight and this can often lead to eating disorders.”

At 5’10”, Katie Green weighs 165lbs (according to Wikipedia) and wears a size 12. She’s considered, by the fashion world, to be a plus size model, because she wears bigger than a size ten. According to some of the mean skinny girls out there, we should consider her to be fat.

I advocated on here early in the year about my concern about bigger girls being accepting of themselves regardless of their size and arguing that they were healthy. In light of the mean skinny girls out there, I’m starting to gain a new perspective and understanding a bit better the defense mechanisms being built by bigger women against society and the constant ramming down of the throats to be even less than a size ten, to be a zero. To be nothing, to basically non-exist because what is zero after all?

I found this a few weeks ago (also on Pinterest) and it’s suddenly changed how I see things:

20120319-003909.jpg

This is the first time I’ve seen suggested weights for specific heights to have a 30+lb variance. That say, yes, it’s ok (and healthy) to be on the lighter end of the scale but guess what? It’s also ok (and healthy) to be on the heavier side of the scale.

And yes, I get it that there’s going to be people that look at that chart and will still think it’s ridiculous and unreasonable and bull shit. But I’m not talking about what’s sexy or desirable or beautiful, because trust me, there are women out there that fall outside these ranges that literally ooze sex appeal and I’m in serious awe, mostly because I know just how hard (and rare) that kind of self-confidence is to have.

I’m (still) talking about what’s healthy and what’s perceived to be healthy and I, personally, am grateful to have a set of numbers that seem realistic.

I’m not going to lie either. Since seeing this chart, I’ve been feeling better about myself and that silly and rather irrelevant number on the scale and I’m sure I have that luxury because I’m falling into the healthy range regardless of whatever height I choose to be on whatever day (depending, of course, on what pair of Fluevogs I’m wearing and the inches they give me).

I think people should be happy, simple as that. Happiness is more important than being skinny (and there are a lot of miserable skinny people who I want to tell to eat a goddamn cupcake and loosen up) and life is too short to not be happy. But I also think the healthier a person is, the easier it is for them to be happier. I know a few women who have made the decision in the past few weeks to eat better and do more physically and I applaud their efforts so vigorously and yet, a lot of my vigor is on the inside because I want them to know I accept them no matter what, regardless of size. And that’s true.

A friend recently reminded me of the JK Rowling quote in which she says, “Is ‘fat’ really the worst thing a human being can be? Is ‘fat’ worse than ‘vindictive’, ‘jealous’, ‘shallow’, ‘vain’, ‘boring’ or ‘cruel’? Not to me.”

There’s really so much truth to that. If given a choice, I’d rather be ‘fat’ and kind, then skinny and mean. I’d rather my friends be ‘fat’ and kind, then skinny and mean. Same goes for my daughter, my sisters, anyone I love.

In the interest of full disclosure and to prove I’m not ashamed, I’m 5’8 and 165lbs, and depending on the brand, I’m a size 12. I don’t need to be at the lower end of the healthy weight range, I don’t want to be 130-135lbs. I wouldn’t be happy at that weight because I’d be hungry. A lot. And I’m guessing it’d make me mean. So no thanks. I’m a plus size girl and I’m healthy. I see myself at the gym and know what I’m capable of so I know this to be true.

I don’t want to be a size zero. I happily say no to say zero and think others should do the same. It’s better to be something than nothing.

It’s better to be kind than mean.

Interesting reading:

Katie Green Official.com

Women getting real about weight. (Take the time to look at the photos of different women, who are different weights and heights).

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Because Skinny Girls Can Be Mean

  1. I’ve gone to the site and signed the petition. I thought size 0 was stupid on the day it was launched all those years ago. I’ve never aspired to be size 0 (I’d be a skeleton), and would happily settle for a comfortable size ten. Bah, I try not to put too much onus on size – too many women are obsessed with weight and jean size… and the mean spirited skinny bitches can call me what they like. I’ve seen that chart before and it’s made me much more accepting of who I am (even though I’m on the very top end of the healthy weight). Let’s face it, if we were to find out tomorrow we had terminal cancer, I don’t think our weight would seem so important. Sister, we are healthy, we are happy and we have beautiful families. Life is good. I love you! xoxo

Leave a Reply

