Someone Like Me

A couple of weeks ago, I drove to Buffalo with my girlfriend Deb, because she wanted to go to Target to get some rice. Her words, not mine. But really, I think the rice was an elaborate ruse to get me in the Christmas decor aisles where we spent a good 45 minutes oohing and aahing over wrapping paper.

I’m being serious.

This gal is so much like me, that if we both weren’t already married and if I was so inclined, I’d consider marrying her.

Our Buffalo trip was a great success. We left the house just before 10am and returned at 6:30 pm. We went to Target, the shady parcel pickup place next to the police station and The Olive Garden. That’s it. Because we spent three plus hours in Target, where Deb bought six boxes of Rice-a-Roni and 5,000 gallons of salsa.

And I bought some Christmas tags.

And other stuff, and yet those things were nowhere near exciting as the rice, the salsa and the tags, which is what we explained to the border guard passing back through. Who we did not charm nearly as much as we thought because he still corralled us into the que to pay duty.

“Great,” I teased Deb, as we parked. “That $1 rice is now going to cost you $1.06”.

Except he didn’t charge her for the food and who gave who a triumphant look as the dude tallied her duty total?

This is totally off topic, because what I REALLY wanted to share was this text message from her, earlier today, which reminded me of those 45 minutes in the Christmas decor aisle at Target:

Deb:
Do you have a tag that will go with this? All mine are silver…?

20111221-204456.jpg

Me:
I might! I’ll check when I’m back home πŸ™‚

Deb:
Kewl, if not no worries, an excuse for me to buy more! Lol

Me:
Do you just need one?
And did you have something specific in mind?

Deb:
Yup.
Nope, it’s just a bottle of wine in a stocking for the cleaning lady, lol.

Me:

20111221-205015.jpg
Might have one of those left? (Tag from Target, yo!)

Deb:
Perfection

Me:
FYI I might have to put this exchange on my blog. With the photos πŸ™‚

Deb:
Lol sure!
In that case check out the bottle for my yoga instructor…

20111221-210442.jpg

Later, as I texted her photos of the different tags I did have (since I’d used all the special Target tags), she accused ME of being crazy. Me!

Simply because I texted her the following:

Me:
I have a waving bear? πŸ˜‰

20111221-210934.jpg

Deb:
Lmao

Me:

20111221-211020.jpg

This is an actual chalk board tag! Great for reusing πŸ˜‰

Me:

20111221-212712.jpg

Look! It’s you, S and L!
And all the dog hair she gets to clean up! πŸ˜‰

Deb:
Lmao
Yes I am crazy for trying to find a tag for the cleaning lady!!!

Me:
Oooooh!

20111221-211225.jpg

Deb:
Lol you are crazy… And I love it.

Me:
*I’M* crazy?? πŸ˜‰

Deb:
Takes one to know one.

Me:
TouchΓ© πŸ™‚
Last one, I promise πŸ™‚

20111221-211331.jpg

Deb:
Show off. πŸ˜‰

Me:
Oooh! A moose!

20111221-211446.jpg

Deb:
Mooooooose!!!

And the best part? Every single text that came through from her was accompanied by the theme from Elf because I downloaded the ringtone last night. And then promptly posted this to Facebook:

“What’s more awesome? That I have the theme from Elf as my ringtone or that it’s going to drive Tay nuts every time I get a text?”

And Deb, having read this? You just KNOW she was revelling in helping to drive Tay nuts as we discussed tags. For Christmas gifts. And ate rice-a-Roni and 5,000 gallons of salsa.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

