Day Eighteen: Favorite Board Game*

We honestly own more board games than any adults should, probably because I played a lot of board games as a kid, with my sisters and my friends and with my parents too. Saturday nights in our house was often game night and we’d sit around the dining room table, usually playing Life or Monopoly and we’d snack on chips and soda, something we didn’t always get to have.

This is our board game cupboard and it doesn’t include all of them (Pictionary, for example, is missing).

I still love board games – and as much of a gamer I’ve been known to be – I still love playing some of the classic board games like Monopoly, Clue, Risk, Pictionary. Unlike video games, which I tend NOT to be good at, I’m really good at most board games which is probably why I like playing them so much. I’m not ashamed to admit that, it’s human nature to be drawn to do that which you’re good at. Perhaps my greatest board game moment was playing Scattergories one Christmas – it was guys against girls and we got the Simpsons question where we had to name all the Simpsons characters on the card and Tay didn’t think we’d get them all and neither did his aunts (who were on my team with me) and guess who listed them all off – with time to spare? I did, because I am so smart. S-M-R-T. I am ashamed to admit that when I do lose at a board game, I don’t do it very gracefully and if there is a board game that I’m not very good at, then chances are, I don’t own it and therefore don’t play it.

(By the way, if you’re playing a board game against me and you’re only eight and you think I’m going to let you win because you’re eight, think again.)

I especially love word games – word asociation games like Taboo and the $25,000 Pyramid but more than those I love games where I get to show off my vocabulary. Boggle yes, and Scrabble of course. Scrabble has to be my most favorite game of all but I have to tell you, if we’re playing and it takes you the full time to form a word I’m going to get pissed off and yes, I’ll pull out the timer. And enforce it. Because really, did you need three minutes to spell “dog”?

When Jody and Andy were visiting last fall, and Terry was here as well, we sat down to play Scrabble and oh my god, it was taking forever to play a single game because Tay constantly takes the full three minutes to form his word (because he’s competitive) and I could only check my email or facebook so many times on my phone before I wanted to lose my mind waiting for him to go. So I came up with Speed Scrabble. In Speed Scrabble, you get a minute to play. When your minute is up, if you’re not laying out your tiles you lose your turn. Speed Scrabble is SOOOOO much better than regular Scrabble.

(I’m starting to realize I’m a bit of a dictator when it comes to playing board games.)

But guess what? Speed Scrabble or regular Scrabble, I’ll still likely beat you. Not really a challenge, just a fact.

*Making blogging fun (and easy) again by participating in this 30 Day Challenge.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

