Day Sixteen: Future Tattoos*

I’m not much for tattoos, really.

The closest I’ve had to a tattoo was a fake one that I got when we were on a cruise to the Bahamas.

 It lasted a few days, long enough for me to return to work and it shocked a few people when they saw it, thinking it was real.

I’m the only one out of all my siblings that doesn’t have a tattoo. I’m not sure why, really. I don’t have an issue with people that have them, and can sort of understand the appeal. I’m certainly not going to be one of those people that tattoo their children’s names on parts of their body. I wouldn’t say that it creeps me out but it’s weird to me.

My sister told me about my cousin who had her son’s footprints tattooed onto her back after losing him to a genetic disease when he was very small. That makes sense to me. It’s such a lovely, poetic gesture and I would likely do the same.

I’ve always been more drawn to the idea of piercings – but never actually had any done other than my ears. When I wore my hair really short, I debated my eyebrow and below my lower lip. I thought about my nose, and briefly consider my tongue. That was quite a few years ago, and now that I’m older, I no longer feel compelled. Not sure if I’m too old, or if it’s more my current lifestyle. Though that may not be a fair assessment since next time I see my hair stylist, I’m going to ask him if we can dye the streak of grey that runs through the front of my hair an amethyst purple (conveniently, that’s Clara’s birthstone and the closest I will get to wearing a (semi-)permanent reference to her on my body). He said before he wanted to dye that streak, but I think he was thinking blonde or light brown.

If I HAD to have a tattoo, I don’t think I’d want it in a highly visible spot. At least not visible to myself. That probably contradicts having a tattoo in the first place, since I’m guessing it should be something you like enough that you’d want to see it all the time. But I don’t think I would. And I’m guessing a lot of people are like that which is why they get their tattoos on their backs and shoulders.  I wouldn’t want my shoulder or my lower back, and I wouldn’t do either my foot or my ankle either. I think tattoos on the inside of the wrist are pretty bad-ass but again, too visible. I’d probably do the base of my neck, like in the photo above or even higher if it was possible. It’d be highly visible with short hair, but with long hair, you’d only see it if your hair was up. Or you’d get a peek at it if you swept your hair up briefly. I could live with that.

I thought before that I’d want to get a Chinese symbol but that was long before everyone started doing it and it became ‘trendy’. Now I’d rather not be part of that particular crowd. Yeah, no thanks. I’d like something that reflected where I’m from, that connected me to my East Coast upbringing, and my love of the ocean and the water and the sea air. I could do a starfish, especially if it looked like this one:

I could handle something like that (if I had too); especially if it was small and on the base of my neck.

“The symbolism of the starfish (ignoring the Christian reference) is also seen as an emblem of salvation during trying times. The star as well as the Starfish are seen as celestial symbols and as such, they represent infinite divine love. In addition to love, the Starfish also holds characteristics such as guidance, vigilance, inspiration, brilliance and intuition.”

Hrmmmm.

*Making blogging fun (and easy) again by participating in this 30 Day Challenge.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Day Sixteen: Future Tattoos*

  1. Aunty Stacy says:

    I’ve been thinking about another tattoo. I’ve been thinking about 5 snowflakes starting at the base of my neck, falling about halfway down my spine. Snowflakes are tricky though. If not done well they’d look stupid.

  2. Alby says:

    Love the snowflake idea Stacy! So much so, I may even steel it myself.

Leave a Reply

