Day Nine: Favorite Flower*

 

Gladiolus are the only flower that I can’t seem to resist buying when they start showing up in the supermarkets. I prefer the elegance and simplicity of the white blossoms, but have brought home other colors – orange, pink, red, purple, yellow – and been just as happy with them.

I don’t really see why I need to wait for someone to buy me flowers – I’m happy buying them for myself and will often do so. Not every week, because our grocery bill is expensive enough as it is, but once in a while I’ll indulge and buy enough to fill a big vase that I put  on the table in our foyer that holds our keys and sunglasses and Clara’s assortment of shoes and hats so that they’re right by the front door and they’re the first thing I see when I come home and the last thing when I leave. When I don’t have fresh flowers for that table, I’ll cheat and display a big vase of artificial calla lilies that I purchased at Pier 1 (not icky, poor quality ones but ones so realistic that more than a couple of people have asked whether or not they’re real).

Although I don’t wait for people to buy me flowers – I DO love the unexpected surprise of receiving them, especially on days that aren’t special occassions. I love opening the door to dinner guests and being greeted by fresh flowers – it’s such nice dinner etiquette that seems to be forgotten, perhaps due to a lack of appreciation. But as someone that has done more than my fair share of hostessing, I will say that if it’s me throwing the dinner party, it’s always, always appreciated. Especially big, tall bouquets of gladiolus that shyly hide their true color when you first see them and you need to wait a day or two to see what color their blossoms will be.

The last person to give me flowers was Clara’s little boyfriend Luke, who brought them with him to Clara’s birthday party because Valentine’s Day was the next day. They were tulips, another favorite of mine, especially when they start to bloom in the front garden. It’s my sign that spring is officially here and indicates the start of long walks outdoors with Clara and solo runs where the only sounds I hear is the music from my iPod and the sound of my feet on the pavement.

The only flower that I don’t appreciate, and have actually asked not to be given, are roses – especially red ones. I did a favor for a friend about 15 years ago when I helped out at his flower shop for the three days leading up to Valentine’s Day and all day long, for twelve hours each day, all I did was prep roses. I was so tired of them by the time Valentine’s arrived, so unable to enjoy their beauty (having been pricked by one too many thorns AND exposed to the ridiculous mark-up on them, especially during holidays) that I swore that I wouldn’t ever let anyone buy me roses. At least as a romantic gesture, and so far I haven’t.

Buy me gladiolus instead, but if you don’t, don’t fret. I’ll get some next time I’m out :).

*Making blogging fun (and easy) again by participating in this 30 Day Challenge.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Day Nine: Favorite Flower*

  1. Jody says:

    They always look lovely in your foyer – its one of my favourite features in your house 🙂

    Funny, tulips are my second favourite too – for the same reasons. (I’m really enjoying this 30 Day Challenge Sister – love you x)

Leave a Reply

