Day Eight: Pictures Of Your Room*

I don’t just have ONE room, but a whole bunch of them that I share with my husband and daughter. I quite like my blogger friend Steph’s response to this over on her blog, “I didn’t do #8 because I’m not 14 years old and taking pictures of my room.” Ha!

Since I always have my iPhone in my hand (or so it seems – well baby on hip, phone in hand 🙂 ), I grabbed a couple of shots of the two rooms where I spend most of my time these days.

I try and get to bed no later than 11, but usually closer to 10 and don’t get up until almost 8. And before you ask how I get 10 hours of sleep with a one-year old, that answer to that is that I don’t. She’s up most nights at least once for a bottle and occasionally will wake and just need a bit of comforting. And there are too many nights where I wake up when she hasn’t and then I can’t get back to sleep. I spend that time reading blogs, emails or stalking people on facebook. And then she gets up, and Tay brings her into our room to hang out with me while he brushes his teeth and gets dressed. Normally she wakes around 6am, this week, with the time change, she’s been getting up at 7am. (I’m hoping this will be her new wakeup time, with a nap at noon and bedtime around 7pm).

I try and sleep for another 45 minutes to an hour after Tay takes Clara downstairs – if I can’t get back to sleep, I get caught up on email or blogs then, when I get up, my routine is this: brush teeth, wash face, put contacts in, tone and moisturize, brush hair and ponytail it, dress for gym, make bed, refill humidifier. And I could be answering text messages during all this if anyone’s texting that early. I head downstairs by 8:15, 8:30 at the latest, when I take over for Tay so that he can go back upstairs and start work. I love that first hour to an hour and a half of my day for selfish reasons – it’s the only time in the day that’s 100% my own and I’m off Clara duty and I indulge in enjoying that time to myself. And Clara enjoys that time with her father – it’s their one-on-one time and she seriously wants nothing to do with me when she wakes up usually, other than the rare morning when she snuggled into my side when Tay laid her down next to me and we all fell back asleep together. THAT doesn’t happen often.

This used to be the breakfast nook in our kitchen where we had a dining set and we where we ate a lot of informal meals. When Clara started getting more mobile we decided to get rid of the table and chairs and turn it in to a play room of sorts. A lot of our meals we’re happy eating in front of the television anyhow, or, if we eat early enough that Clara sits with us, or if we have company, we use the table in the dining room. We built a wall of cabinets (taking advantage of a sale at Ikea) to store our liquor collection (and highlight a painting I picked out in New Orleans), added a desk and a chair for my laptop (it’s where I often blog, or Tay remote accesses his computer upstairs, or we surf the net while one of us is cooking dinner), a couple of chairs for company to lounge on and then distributed some of Clara’s many, many toys in this area as well as other parts of the house. If we’re home, and Clara is awake (and we’re not wrestling on her change table with her diaper) this is where you can find us.

*Making blogging fun (and easy) again by participating in this 30 Day Challenge.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

