The Anti-Valentine’s Poker and Potluck

We’re having a few people over tonight for poker and potluck.

The other evening, when Tay was at hockey, he extended the invitation to some of the guys he plays with. I wasn’t there to witness the conversation, but from how Tay described it to me, I guess the coversation went something like this, with or without my embellishment:

Tay: So we’re having a get together at our place Saturday night, going to play some poker if you’re interested.
Hockey Dude: You’re playing POKER on VALENTINE’S day?
Tay (throwing his hands up in mock defense): Hey, it was my WIFE’S idea!
(Silence in the men’s locker room)
Hockey Dude: You sure have one hell of a wife.

Why yes, yes he does.

I’m not exactly ANTI-Valentine’s Day, I’m not really resentful of it but I don’t really buy in the the Hallmark attitudes around this particular day. Yes, I’m happy to be with my loved one on this day, but I don’t think the day needs to have flowers and chocolates and a romantic dinner over candlelight. I would rather have those things through out the year, given to me just because, not because some CEO at Hallmark is trying to get richer than he/she already is (Birthday cards for cats and dogs? When did cats and dogs learn to READ?)

So instead of falling into the Valentine’s trap that seems to be forced on so much of society, we’re having friends over to share the love – granted it’ll be tough love, all around the poker table, but it will be fun love since it’s a great group of people coming over. And as far as I know, it’s two couples and 3 or 4 single guys and as far as the single guys go, does it get any better than booze and poker and good food? As far as the COUPLES go, does it get any better?

I’m thinking it doesn’t.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Anti-Valentine’s Poker and Potluck

  1. Fern Wimpley says:

    Wish I was there to play poker with you tonight!xo

  2. Taylor says:

    Yup, that’s pretty much how it went. Though basically I asked if anyone wasn’t married first.

Leave a Reply

