Jinglin’ Baby

I didn’t realize how much I missed my nano until I got my iPhone a couple of weeks ago and I started transferring all my music to it. I carry my phone everywhere I go, more often than not with my earphones plugged in and music playing. I listen to it on the train when I’m writing, during my walk to and from Union, when I run errands on my lunch, removing one ear piece so I can order the beet salad I love so much at the place in the food court near work. I’m getting back into running now, ramping it up on the treadmill at the gym and I’m wondering how I ever ran a half marathon without music when now it would kill me to run 15 without something playing in my ear. Last week I was plugged into my phone while I brushed my teeth, while I cooked dinner, while I slept in the hammock yesterday afternoon.

I spent most of this weekend loading up my iphone with as much music as I could, staying up last night until 3am loading track after track and downloading album art to go with it. I’m listening while I write this, my phone is on the bed next to my lap top and I’ve remembered a music meme that Kat did on her blog earlier this year that I had bookmarked as a reminder to do it on my blog but then it slipped my mind and when I remembered, I had lost my nano by then but now my iphone is pretty loaded, the meme is still bookmarked and I can’t sleep.

(Here are the rules: Put your music player on shuffle. Press forward for each question. Use the song title as the answer to the question even if it doesn’t make sense.)

How am I feeling today? A Rush of Blood to the Head (Coldplay)

Will I get far in life? Git Up, Git Out(Outkast)

What’s your current state of mind? Science Genius Girl (FreezePop)

How do my friends see me? Woman (John Lennon)

Where will I get married? Bachelorette (Bjork)

What is your view of marriage? Crossroads (LL Cool J)

What is my best friend’s theme song? Lucky (Radiohead)

What is the story of my life? Shut Your Eyes (Snow Patrol)

What is/was high school like? Take Off Your Cool (Outkast)

How can I get ahead in life? Wicked Lady (Ndidi)

What is the best thing about me? Why Do I Keep Counting (The Killers)

What is today going to be like? It’s Beginning to Get to Me (Snow Patrol)

What is in store for this weekend? Lounge (Esthero)

Describe my parents? Time for the Whistle (Cirkus)

Describe my grandparents? Dansez-Vous (Pink Martini)

How is my life going? Better Together (Jack Johnson)

What song will they play at my funeral? Jingling Baby (LL Cool J)

How does the world see me? Syrup & Honey (Duffy)

Will I have a happy life? Transatlanticism (Death Cab for Cutie)

What do my friends really think of me? Breathe From Another (Esthero)

Do people secretly lust after me? Magic’s in the Makeup (No Doubt)

How can I make myself happy? Let It Will Be (Madonna)

What should I do with my life? Paranoid Android (Radiohead)

Will I ever have children? Suede (Tori Amos)

What is some good advice for me? Lay Low (Cirkus)

How will I be remembered? Sexy (Black Eyed Peas) Hahaha!!

What is my signature dancing song? Droppin’ Em (LL Cool J)

What is my current theme song? Suffragette City (David Bowie)

What do people think my current theme song is? Two Guys for Ever Girl (Peaches)

What type of men/women do you like? Gamma Ray (Beck)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Jinglin’ Baby

  1. ALB says:

    Ha, some of the answers/songs made me laugh. So cute, I’ll have to load up my (gasp) Shuffle and play too.

  2. Taylor says:

    Jeez, I hope no one is reading too much into this, it sounds like a double life. πŸ™‚ I mean Suffragette City for a Theme Song? Two Guys for every Girl? What the?! You don’t even like Peaches! Are you trying to tell me something? :pYou can never trust the printed word of fiction writers. I mean.. what ARE the odds ‘Sexy’ would come up for that specific question? Yeesh. In fact, I think I’ll call Shenanigans on this one. Me thinks someone was skipping tracks to keep things interesting for her readers. πŸ™‚ I’ll do it *FOR REAL*…*does it*Okay so none of the songs really presented any sort of associated response ouside of a couple which were remotely interesting:Describe my grandparents? Where Are My Panties? (Outkast… ewwww)How does the world see me? Listen to What the Man Said (Paul McCartney)Will I have a happy life? Carpe Diem Baby (Metallica)How can I make myself happy? The Lonely Shepherd (Zamfir)What type of men/women do you like? C&C Music Factory Medley (uhhh)—-So since I did it on the entire household music library which included a bunch of stuff I don’t even listen to anymore, a lot of Tawn’s music too, Christmas music, etc.. I figured I should be doing this off my MP3 player instead where I actually chose songs to be on it.The results are far more interesting.—-How am I feeling today? Nausea (Beck)Will I get far in life? Don’t Stop ’till You Get Enough (Michael Jackson)What’s your current state of mind? No Hay Igual (Nelly Furtado) (I think it means “There is no other”)How do my friends see me? Somebody (Deee-lite)Where will I get married? Hunter (Bjork) Same Artist and Album as Tawns. Interesting lyrical themes too.What is your view of marriage? Think I’m in Love (Beck) No shit, I swear.What is my best friend’s theme song? Heaven (Bitter:Sweet)What is the story of my life? Glow (Nelly Furtado)What is/was high school like? Happy Valentines Day (Outkast)How can I get ahead in life? Blooming 18 (Ace of Base)What is the best thing about me? Let’s Get Retarded (Black Eyed Peas)What is today going to be like? Waiting Room (No Doubt) .. and interestingly enough, I’ve been waiting all day for an email.What is in store for this weekend? What More Can I say (Jay Z + Danger Mouse)Describe my parents? Pensylvania 6-5000 (Brian Setzer Orchestra)Describe my grandparents? She Knows (Gnarls Barkley)How is my life going? Snow (Hey Oh) (RHCP)What song will they play at my funeral? Freaky Hijiki (Beastie Boys.. my Favorite Band) How does the world see me? Splash Waterfalls (Ludacris.. rather ellicit sexual lyrics) Will I have a happy life? My Doorbell (The White Stripes)What do my friends really think of me? FlyPaper (K-Os)Do people secretly lust after me? My Love (Justin Timerlake)How can I make myself happy? It’s My Life (No Doubt)What should I do with my life? Emergency on Planet Earth (Jamiroquai)Will I ever have children? 1 Thing (Amerie) What is some good advice for me? All Comes Down (Kanye West ft Lauryn Hill)How will I be remembered? Put a Lid On It (Squirrel Nut Zippers)What is my signature dancing song? Guitar (Prince)What is my current theme song? Black Devil Car (Jamiroquai)What do people think my current theme song is? Funkdafied (Da Brat)What type of men/women do you like? Wherever I May Roam (Metallica) uhh. I’m sensing a theme here. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

