The F Word

My friend Tina has been loyally reading the stuff that I’ve been posting to my writing blog and after the latest installment, she left me a comment saying that her only complaint was that I use the F word a lot in my writing and she found that it was taking away from the story. I wasn’t overly surprised to hear her say that, nor was I surprised when I did a search and saw just how often it came up. I asked a couple of my other friends that have been reading along if they felt the same way and neither one of them seemed really bothered by it but they both commented that it was a litte odd to see me use that word so much in my writing since I very rarely use it as part of my verbal vocabulary.

I’ve got nothing against the F word and understand it’s appeal. I don’t think it needs to be used ever other word in casual conversation, which is the norm for a lot of people but I do believe there are certain circumstances that call for it, like when you are driving and someone cuts you off or maybe you’re in the bedroom and you get carried away and well, well then you might not be able to STOP saying it. And sometimes, when I’m writing, I can’t help but use it, and when I do use it, I liberally use it, depending on who’s point of view I’m writing from and what’s happening.

If someone dies, then the f-word is appropriate. I know, because I’ve been watching the entire Six Feet Under series on DVD and I’m into the 4th season and you know what? They use the F-word ALL THE TIME.

If you’re writing about the grittiness of life, homeless people and drugs and unprotected sex, then the f-word is not really optional, it’s pretty much mandatory.

And sometimes, sex is more than just sex, it’s not as nice as making love – sometimes it’s so raw that it’s f!#$ing, pure and simple.

I took the comment to heart about the use of the f-word and before posting this next piece I read through it and changed some of the f-words to things that were less offensive but there were other parts where I couldn’t change it, parts where it’s part of the dialogue and substituting anything else didn’t sound right. Trust me, I tried.

This next part is about Jeremy, who is briefly mentioned in the very first section I posted. He is Fiona’s son, but it is years later and there are a couple of scenes between him and his mother and also a scene with Kyra. When I was talking to Renu about writing this section I warned her that Jeremy turns out not so nice in this section and she seemed upset because according to her, he seems like such a sweet boy.

Not anymore. (But really, it’s not my fault).

I’ve broken this into two sections because it’s really long – his section is about 25,000 words so this is the first half.

It’s here, same password as before.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The F Word

  1. Heather says:

    So I’m now intrigued, any chance of me scoping that password to read some of our lovely writing…or your fucken lovely writing that is?

  2. Stephanie says:

    “I was 12 years old, watching a man many years my senior [George Carlin] curse a blue streak while exposing the hypocrisy of a medium (and a society) that couldn’t deal with the public usage of terms they probably employed regularly in their private lives. And while he seemed to revel in being a rebel, here was a man who also clearly loved the English language, warts and all—even the so-called “bad words” (although, as George would say, there are no such things as “bad words”). I wouldn’t say George Carlin taught me obscenities, but I would definitely say he taught me that the casual use of obscenities wasn’t reserved just for drunken sailors, as the old chestnut goes; even intelligent people were allowed to incorporate them into their everyday conversations (because George was nothing if not intelligent).”— Kevin Smith, remembering his friend George Carlinhttp://www.newsweek.com/id/142975

  3. I’m soo excited! Unfortunately I have a 5am shift tomorrow so I’m off to bed right now, but I’ll be curled up with the laptop tomorrow and a glass of wine to read. And, I hope I didn’t offend you with my comment. I don’t know if I agree totally with you on the use of the word, but I certainly see your point. 🙂

  4. I’m ready for the next section. 🙂

Leave a Reply

