Need Some Help

Just before Christmas I went to a workshop dealing with homelessness and as a group, we did an exercise that I learned a lot from. I was talking to my boss last week about the exercise and told her how I wanted to present the exercise at a team meeting we’re having this week at work. When I sat down the other day to write up some notes for the exercise, I couldn’t quite determine if I’d remembered the exercise correctly – so I thought I’d throw it on my blog and see if I could get a few people to do the exercise. If you want to do the exercise, it’d be a big help to me.

It’s pretty simple – read the following scenario and then, taking 30 seconds or so, jot down the first things that come to your mind. Please be as honest as possible. Then post your thoughts in a comment to this blog, or if you’re not comfortable being public with them, posts your comments anonymously or send me an email at tawn@hotmail.com.

You have recently purchased the home of your dreams. It’s a decent size, is in a good neighborhood and backs onto a large field that’s been designated by the city to be developed into a neighborhood park.

One day, you hear on the radio that the city is planning on rezoning the land behind your house and instead of using it for park land, it’s now been designated as the site for a refugee camp for Iraqi soldiers. The soldiers being housed in the facility know how to use weapons, are trained killers, and are wanted criminals.

There will be a public meeting the next day to answer questions and hear concerns from those living in the neighborhood – when you go to the meeting, what stance do you take?

Remember – take about 30 seconds and jot down your immediate thoughts regarding this scenario – being as honest as you possibly can be.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Need Some Help

  1. Tina says:

    Yes, I would go to the meeting and I would be very opposed to it. As a mother of 2 small children, I would not feel safe living behind a refugee camp, regardless of who was being housed there. I would also want to know why a refugee camp would take presidence over a neighbourhood park. A park is something that would attract young families and keep property values. I refugee camp is something that should be located near a neigbourhood, and all efforts should be made to change the location to something more remote. (you wanted honesty)

  2. Stephanie says:

    I would be confused. Is it housing? Is it a training ground? Is it a prison? A rehab?If anything involving guns were to be located near my house, I would definitely be displeased. I also wouldn’t be happy about increased traffic, noise or light. That said, if it’s something like a prison, where people are being detained, I would probably not have a problem with that fact. If people are going to get out of a prison, they’re going to try & get as far away as possible and not exactly hang around the neighborhood. My concern would be with other things, including property values, and I wouldn’t give a damn about what people are being kept in or housed at or trained in this facility, whatever it is.

  3. Jody says:

    Well I sure wouldn’t be happy about it. I would be wondering why they chose the heart of a residential area for a detainee camp in the first place. If it was only temporary, and was going to be kept well maintained, guarded very closely, noise kept to a minimum, and once they were gone, the park contstructed then I would probably be able to ‘accept it’ So long as it was short term. I don’t think there would be much you could do to oppose it really. Whether we like it or not.

  4. Anna Lee says:

    Initial feelings–shock and suprise. Followed by wanting to know more information like how would the folks be taken care of in terms of integration into the community, health care including mental health supports, and what type of training the staff would have to deal with situations that may arise. Ultimately, I’d be looking for a fairly well formed plan which I’m sure would be available for discussion. After all these folks would need a place to live too. And really, will they have access to guns and bombs? Really, who cares if they can use a machine gun if they don’t carry one around?

  5. Anna Lee says:

    Initial feelings–shock and suprise. Followed by wanting to know more information like how would the folks be taken care of in terms of integration into the community, health care including mental health supports, and what type of training the staff would have to deal with situations that may arise. Ultimately, I’d be looking for a fairly well formed plan which I’m sure would be available for discussion. After all these folks would need a place to live too. And really, will they have access to guns and bombs? Really, who cares if they can use a machine gun if they don’t carry one around?

Leave a Reply

