Sushi in the Park

There’s lots more going on these days then what I had for dinner, one VERY BIG THING but right now’s the waiting game and rather than going crazy thinking about it, I’m distracting myself by blogging about food.

While grocery shopping the other day at Loblaws I came across a line of products I hadn’t seen before – frozen Japanese entrees that jumped out at me and looked so appealing that I couldn’t resist buying a couple. The first was a Sushi box, complete with california rolls, wasabi, ginger and soya sauce and a pair of chopsticks – all packed in a convenient microwaveable tray and the second was the Bento box – with chicken teriyaki, rice, snow peas and a pork dumpling.

I took my sushi box to work with me today, and kept it in the freezer until about 5pm this evening when I prepared it as directed and then took it into the part with me to eat before my late meeting starts. As I sat on the park bench wearing my summer capris and sandals, eating my sushi and reading the new book I bought at Chapters today, I felt slightly Molly Ringwald-like from The Breakfast Club except really, it’s not uncommon to see people eating sushi in the park, especially here off Queen Street. The irony of it of course is that I could have gone to any number of sushi places along Queen and bought fresh sushi for maybe a dollar more than I spent on my PC sushi, and I lot of my coworkers didn’t share my enthusiasm for my vacuum sealed package of california rolls, but for me, it’s all about the CONVENIENCE. That and the fact that I would have been too lazy today to walk down to Queen in the heat this evening.

The california rolls themselves were surprisingly tasty, and while certainly not as good as when you buy them fresh, I’m definitely buying them again because how great would it be to wake up in the middle of the night and want sushi and to have it in your freezer, easily prepared in 15 minutes or less?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Sushi in the Park

  1. Sushi? Fish is meant to be cooked my friend. 🙂

  2. flud22 says:

    Microwavable sushi?!?!?! What a great idea! As a huge fan of sushi and convenience, I think I will take your lead (and recommendation) and purchase both the sushi and bento box for my late work day meals. Thanks Tawn!

  3. Love, love, love it!!! So great of my SO to fill me in on this great find! Thanks for keeping me in the loop tho:)

Leave a Reply

