Try This Little Gem

Laura has a friend who used to work in the Vintages section at the LCBO and every (other?) week she’d send out her tasting notes for the new releases. Laura used to forward the email to me and every time I got it, I’d head to the LCBO with a list of wines that piqued my interest, always buying at least one from her friend’s list, if not more. It’s how I discovered Wolftrap, a lovely red that I STILL talk about (I accidentally managed to get my hands on a bottle of the stuff a few weeks ago and I’m saving it to drink with Laura – we went on the Wolftrap kick together). Imagine my excitement when I opened my email today and discovered that Laura’s friend was back at the LCBO and is once again sending around her tasting notes.

We headed to the LCBO tonight to look for some wines – I had the a list of possible three I wanted from “the list” and Tay was looking for a Riesling he had tried (and loved) on the cruise. I had originally only intended to buy one (the D’Arenberg The Stump Jump GSM) and recommend a second to Tay (the Thirty Bench Riesling 2005) but came across the third one on my list (the Marquis Philips Shiraz 2004) and when I saw that the Vintages gal at our local LCBO had marked the shelf tag as ohmigod (her ratings go from Tasty to Wow!) I couldn’t resist buying it.

When we got home I decided I had better crack open the bottle and give it a go – it came so highly recommended by both LCBO Vintage gals AND got a score of 90 from Robert Parker and if it was as good as I anticipated it to be, I knew I’d want to buy more of it while I still could. The second I sipped from my glass I knew what a little gem it was, and it’s a miracle that there’s still half a bottle still on the kitchen counter (saved for dinner tomorrow night).

Laura’s friend described it as bodacious, sexy and smooth and I couldn’t believe just how fantastically smooth it was. If you’re a big fan of red wines, especially Australian shirazes, then you need to buy multiple bottles of this wine before it disappears from the LCBO. You can buy just one, but you’ll most likely be going back for more (like I am). If you’re normally just a fan of white, but want to drink more red, this is definitely a good wine to start with because of just how smooth it is – it doesn’t leave that rough taste on your tongue that some reds do and it drinks easy.

The LCBO near us still has 57 bottles of it and at $18 a bottle, it’ll be hard not to buy more than 5 or 6 bottles of it…but if I could afford to buy all 57, I quite probably would.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Try This Little Gem

  1. Jody says:

    Its still a bit strange for me to hear you raving about wines, especially reds, when for so long you wouldn’t contemplate them and now here you are a proper wine whore! 🙂 I’ll have to look for it here, but its doubtful I’ll find it.

  2. Heather says:

    I was a wine whore…til I got pregnant again.

  3. Tawny says:

    Heather!! I’m still reeling from your news and so glad we got to chat yesterday!!I can’t wait to plan a trip to see you so that I can a) see Mr. Miles b) see you and now c) talk to your belly again!!

  4. Heather says:

    I’m with Tina…wassup?

Leave a Reply

