Chick Flick Cherry, Aphrodite’s Pink Nightie and Paint Your Toron-Toes Rose*

On Saturday night I’m hosting a girls night at our place – about 8 of my girlfriends will be attending and I’ve been spending the past couple of nights poring over my book of cocktails to determine drinks that I’ll be offering on my drink menu. I’m sure I’ll post the official list later this week, as well as the recipes should anybody be interested in learning how to make the fabulous cocktails I’ve got planned. The drink I’m MOST excited about is the Strawberry Flapper, which is made with strawberries, ice, strawberry liquer and champagne. I’ve always wanted to be a flapper; I can at least drink like one Saturday night.

We’re also going to spend the evening indulging ourselves in alcohol and sinful foods and Jackie is going to teach all of us how to apply fake eyelashes. We’re going to watch girl movies and/or possibly hit the bar up the street depending on how much we drink and I told everyone that’s coming that they have to bring their pajamas because I doubt anyone will be in any state to drive home, BUT the most exciting part for me is that we’re all going to paint our toenails, and THIS is where things get fun. The invitation I sent out included the following:

“I have an embarassing quantity of OPI nail polish for painting our toenails BUT if everyone could bring a bottle of OPI nail polish, we’ll have lots of colors to try. Have fun picking out your OPI shade** and choose a name that represents who you are (I’m currently wearing “Did Someone Say Party?” 🙂 At the end of the night, you can choose to keep the color you brought, or you can participate in the Great Nailpolish Exchange.”

In my current collection of OPI, the shades that are amongst my favorite include Java Mauve-A, Windy City Pretty, Chocolate Moose and Did Someone Say Party which I am now (again) wearing (I removed the One More Merlot the other day, the quality of the polish was very much inferior to OPI) but I need to buy a new bottle of OPI for the party on Saturday night.

In the summer time I usually go for pinks or mauves, and in the winter, I go with dark colors like browns, and dark oranges and the occasional burgundy. I love pastels but they don’t look right on my skin because it’s so pale, and reds are usually too extreme. I’ve gone through the list of OPI colors looking for a shade that is ‘me’ and I’ve narrowed it down to the following possibilities:


Silent Mauvie


Not So Bora-Bora-ing Pink


YourVillaorMine?


Mmm…Vould You Like a lick-tenstein?

I absolutely love the colors shown above, but if I drank coffee, I would SO be buying Espresso Your Style, because it’s a beautiful rich brown color but I’ve never drank coffee and probably never will. Although, maybe I should just go ahead and buy it because what’s up with me putting the Lick-tenstein color on my list? It’s not like I’m a vampire and go around in the middle of the night sucking on people’s necks. Hrm..and nor do I have a villa (but I wish I did). I think I’ll probably end up getting Silent Mauvie, not that I love silent movies, but I do love movies and I do love mauve polish so there you go. (Hrm..maybe someone will bring Espresso Your Style and not like it and it’ll get included in the Nailpolish Exchange?? 🙂

Oh! I haven’t done this in a very long time so here’s a poll! From the above shades, what color do you think I should pick? AND what OPI shade would you pick to represent yourself? The full list of OPI colors is here.

* All OPI shades, BTW! 🙂
** Go to http://www.opi.com/Classics/classic_home.asp for a full list of colors.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Chick Flick Cherry, Aphrodite’s Pink Nightie and Paint Your Toron-Toes Rose*

  1. katitude says:

    ooo…I love the name of this one..sums up my poker playing * grin:A-Rose at Dawn. Broke By Noon

  2. Fern Wimpley says:

    I think you should go with…Silent Mauvie.For me, although my list was very long, my final choice would be Lincoln Park After Dark.Or.If I was attending festivities at your house for another occassion, I’d pick Royal Flush Blush. Not because I am ever good enough to get such a hand, but because it would be a hand in poker and that is just too clever.

  3. Valentina says:

    I agree with Stacey, Silent Mauvie, looks really nice. As for what I would pick myself, I think I would go for the “Mrs. O’Leary’s BBQ” for a summer pedicure… For the winter, I might choose “Silent Mauvie”.🙂

  4. Caius says:

    I’m pretty sure that “lick-tenstein” is refering to Roy Lichtenstein, the pop artist rather than Frankenstein.As for coffee, you should try it. There was a point where you didn’t like wine. Good coffee has many similarities to good wine as there are many subtle differences betweent the beans depending on where they are grown and how they are roasted. I LOVE coffee.

  5. AL says:

    I am so looking forward to the weekend. Self description by OPI….I’d have to say Don’t Be Koi With Me…for both the colour and name…as well as You’re Such a Kabuki Queen–this one more for the colour but also the name too:)Can’t wait for the drinkees!!!

  6. Jody says:

    Because its autumn and I’d feel like being ‘daring’ I’d go for SoHo Nice to Meet You. (I think). I like the name and the colour.I believe you should go for Silent Mauvie. But you could be daring too! Wish I could be in on the party.

  7. Anonymous says:

    Definitely “Mmm, Vould you like a licktenstein?” This has been my absolute favorite color for at least three years. I can only find it on ebay now. And it’s from the collection which referenced European cities (NOT the artist, as previously mentioned) i.e. Lichtenstein in Germany – not sure what year that line of colors were introduced. There’s just something about it – not a true red – all I know is that it goes wonderfully with my skin tone. I get tons and tons of compliments on it.

Leave a Reply

