Why I Still Love Poker

Mostly I love it because of the company around the table – the banter and laughter, the goodnatured-lewdness, and the fact that R will be a good sport and put on the pink fuzzy hat that I knitted and wear it all night, referring to it as his aggression hat, even after I stuck a purple and pink flower on it to spruce it up. These are the things that will make me sit and play even after a long sleepless night followed by a long day at work, when all I want to do is go to bed and pretend that I’m still on sick leave and not back at work with the crazy people.

But there are other things that make me love the game, and that’s the sudden rush of adrenaline you get when you go all in with an Ace and the 10 of diamonds, and you get called and your opponent has pocket Kings. The flop comes up all diamonds and it could be better, but you’re sitting on a flush draw so it could be worse. And then the fourth card comes and it’s an Ace and suddenly you’re ahead with top pair and the only card that can beat you is a King. The fifth and last card comes up and while it IS a King, it’s the King of diamonds which means that while your opponent might now have three of a kind, you suddenly have a flush and just like that, your chip stack is now twice it’s size.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Why I Still Love Poker

  1. katitude says:

    SCHWEEEETT!!!!TY for the ride last night, had fun as always *grins.

  2. I really wish I understood poker. Felt like I was reading another language there.

Leave a Reply

