Reading, Sleeping, Movies, Knitting…and Music

…This is what my life has become.

I’m not complaining in any way, but it has been a bit of a challenge to slow myself down, to retrain myself, to allow myself to sit still and not feel guilty about it. The days following my surgery have been more of an inconvenience then anything else – still swollen and finding it difficult to talk but still no pain. I’m very fortunate in that I’m very comfortable for the most part and last night I actually slept through the night. Each day is better than the day before.

I’ve spent the past two mornings curled on the couch in the living room, buried under a blanket and just listening to music…drifting in and out of sleep, waking to hear the music that I love and then fading away again. When Tay comes downstairs and sees me motionless and inquires as to what I’m doing, I tell him that I’m just listening to music. Something that I haven’t done in such a long time – the music I’ve heard in the past few months has always been background music – music while I run, while I drive, while I work, while I cook or clean the house. It’s been a very long time since I’ve just sat and listened to music. Sat and enjoyed it and really heard it.

The other week, I was listening to the radio as I got ready to go to work and they were debating if they had to give up music or movies, which would they give up. I went into Tay’s office to ask him, because his love of music has always been so evident, but so has his love for movies so I was curious to know which he would chose. His choice, if forced, was to give up music and I’m not really surprised, one only has to look at our collection of movies in comparison to our collection of music and the answer I suppose is apparent.

I thought about it, and what I would chose…thought of all the movies that I’ve seen in my lifetime, all the TIFF screenings, all the movies that have made me cry and laugh and smile. But then I thought about the music of my life…the music that has always been a backdrop to every little thing and the way certain songs can cause me to relive a moment in a matter of seconds.

And then I think of all the movies that I’ve seen and how one of the things I always listen for is the soundtrack – a good soundtrack can often make or break a movie for me, and a well chosen song in a movie can be pivotal – we saw Snow Cake at TIFF last month and hearing Tori Amos softly playing during one particular scene brought that screen moment to life for me. It’s one of the moments that stood out most to me long after the movie ended.

My love of reading is probably the only thing that could allow me give up movies if I had to chose. I look at movies as books which are brought to life through another person’s imagination rather than my own. I love watching movies that are based on books and seeing how one person’s imagination differs from my own, but I more love the movies that I have no reference to, movies that I have not been predispositioned to. Could I give up original, thought-provoking movies though? As an avid reader I think I could…there’s a world filled with books that are waiting to be read, and they’re all so readily available.

Thank god I don’t have to chose, but music..I don’t think I could give it up, not ever. The past couple of days have reminded me of this, just sitting and listening has been so good for me, so good for my body, for my mind. Hours upons hours of just sitting and listening, or listening while I do the other things I love.

And you? If you had to chose?

“I think I should have no other mortal wants, if I could always have plenty of music. It seems to infuse strength into my limbs and ideas into my brain. Life seems to go on without effort, when I am filled with music.” – George Eliot (1819 – 1880)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Reading, Sleeping, Movies, Knitting…and Music

  1. katitude says:

    I have no problem giving up movies or tv, and yes, I can even give up music. I love to sit and just listen to the world around me: outside (leaves rustling in the trees, birds, crickets) or inside (my cat’s purring, the whoosh of the elevator). But I am addicted to reading – if I go too long without I get cranky. You’ll have to pry my library card out of my cold, dead hand 🙂

  2. flud22 says:

    bye-bye movies! music is far too important in my life to give up. whether its going to a concert, singing loudly in the car or strumming the guitar with my friends when we get together, music is far too enjoyable to leave behind. and as u said tawny…..(even tho i am not an avid reader) reading can easily take the place of a good movie!

  3. Taylor says:

    Well if movies didn’t have scores anymore, then it would obviously be a problem. But my assumption is movies would stay as they are, music (CD’s/Radio/Live Performances) would go away.It’s a pretty difficult decision to make. Since I don’t read (I spend my entire day reading, I can’t stand spend my free time doing it too) it’s not an alternative for me.Film is the ultimate art. It combines every indivudual art form known to man into a singular composition. No other singular piece of art has given me as much emotion as film has. These emotions are all triggered by either the score, the story or the performances. This is music, writing and acting.My opinion of a film then is derived from the art of cinematography, editing and direction. Costuming is rarely something I notice, there’s only a handful of films I’ve ever seen where I can honestly say the costuming or set direction was pathetic (case and point “The Stand”). While I love music. A lot. I think maybe it’s too personal for me. I’m more drawn to the ryhthm and engineering of a track first, then the voice, then the actual story the song presents. I react to music instinctly rather than analyize it. Music, at least the music we’re most often subject to, to me, these days, is desparately lacking in creativity (on the whole) though I can say the same for film as well.. there’s just so much garbage out there. But in reality.. music peaked, for the most part, 30-40 years ago and film continues to improve.. at least, the best film of today is better than the best film of decades ago. I dunno… all I know is there will never be another group like “The Beatles”, there will never be another singular musical artist like Prince. And while it’s difficult to recreate the experience of ‘Singing in the Rain’… there’ll be (and have been) a successor to Citizen Kane, to Casablanca, etc… The “best music” is timeless.. the best films are not.. and my point here is.. film has not peaked, music… I think, has, there’s only so far you can go with sound. Hey.. it’s had a couple thousand year jumpstart on film, what do you expect?

Leave a Reply

