Farewell to Smithers

It’s truly a sad day in our household as Mr. Burns lost his trusty sidekick this afternoon due to downsizing.

Now that the beamer (Mr. Burns) is my regular commuter car and Tay really only races the Civic (Marge), we didn’t really have much reason to keep the Type R (Smithers).

I understand why we sold the car, and encouraged Tay to list it, but still, in retrospect, I quite enjoyed the attention that I received when driving the R that I no longer get when driving the Beamer. I’ve had a couple of curious guys ask me about Mr. Burns (mostly because the BMW markings were removed from the hood and the back so it’s hard to identify exactly what kind of BMW it is) but it’s not the same type of attention.

I remember getting out of the R one evening wearing high-heeled boots and having a male friend, who was hanging out in front of the house, comment that he was sure I was the only girl in the city driving a Type-R in heels like mine. I have great memories of driving the R, memories that include Stacy and Rebecca who both loved that car as if it were their own (in fact, both wished desperately that it could be theirs). I did both a Solo 1 and a Solo 2 school in the R and when I drove it, I used to be able to get from point A to point B very quickly, much to the amusement of friends.

I received my very first speeding ticket driving in the R.

When people ask me what I think of the Beamer, I say that’s it’s fine, it runs well and is a smooth ride. It’s a very fine commuter car. But then I add, kind of wistfully, that it’s not the R.

Farewell Smithers – you’ll be missed.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Farewell to Smithers

  1. Fern Wimpley says:

    I shall take the next week to mourn the loss of smithers.*sigh*One day I shall have my own. And maybe I’ll call it Garth. Oh wait, that is what I named my first knitted square. I’m sure I’ll come up with something clever and witty.Maybe…

  2. It’s crazy how our vehicles become part of our family. I nearly bawled when I sold my first car in Newfoundland, who was named “Sophie the Wonder Dodge” (Dodge Shadow). I admit, I did a little happy dance when Rob sold his S10, but that’s different, it wasn’t mine.

  3. AL says:

    As you know I absolutely love your Beamer as though it were my own. I am certain you’ll soon have fond memories of this one too. And really, it’s a BMW…so much more than just a commuter car!

Leave a Reply

