The Gap Has Closed

Fortunately, it’s not the one at the mall.

Frotunately, and more importantly, it’s the gap that was in my teeth, made present when Tooth 41 was so ruthlessly yanked from my mouth at the end of March. I was promised that the gap would close up in approximately 4 months and at the time, 4 months seemed a very long time, a much longer time then one would ever think unless they’ve had a front tooth yanked and a hole left for all the world to see. I was originally a little sensitive about the gap at first, especially at a party the next night where I drunkenly swore at a friend of ours who (drunkenly) pointed out the new change in my smile.

By the end of April I was mostly used to the gap, and laughlingly pointed at it in London while saying to Stacy, “Mind the Gap!” I was too embarrassed/self-conscious/vain to post a photo of the gap when it first happened, but there’s lots of video from us in Europe where you can clearly see it when I’m talking. So there IS proof out there that the gap existed but you might question that there was ever a Tooth 41 from looking at the photo below:


The gap would have been right where my finger is pointing but it’s gone now:). The interesting thing about the whole experience was watching the space gradually close – at one point, Tay and I had pulled out the tape measure and measure it and within a week it went from 3.5 mm to 3mm. It was crazy!

The rest of my teeth have continued to straighten out and all that seems to remain is that one of my lower teeth seems to be sitting lower than the others, but I have an ortho appt tomorrow morning and I’ll ask about that.

My surgical date is now less than 2 months away and I’m partly excited and partly scared. Excited because I can’t wait to get rid of my overbite and to see how it’s going to change things, scared because a) it’s a surgical procedure and b) I don’t know how I’ll react to having my jaw screwed shut for 6 weeks. Don’t even get me started on the possibility that they’ll need to fit a piece of bone into my jaw to make everything fit properly – that happened to my brother’s girlfriend and to say I was a little queasy looking at the scar above her hip bone is an understatement. Ouch :(.

It’s definitely hard to believe that it’s been almost a year since I’ve had my braces on (I’ll be having my surgery exactly 1 day shy of the one year mark), harder to believe that I’m at the possible the halfway mark (maybe less, all depending on how the next few months ago). I don’t even notice my braces anymore, nor do I have any shyness about showing them to people (kids especially seem to have a fascination with them). And I’ve gotten really good at dislodging food from them (helps that I keep thieving individually wrapped tooth picks from restaurants and have a constant supply in my purse).

I keep saying that when the braces come off, I’m going to pierce either my tongue or my lower lip to draw attention to my brand new smile – but I have a feeling that with the way things are shaping up, my new smile will get all kinds of attention on it’s own :).

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Gap Has Closed

  1. Jody says:

    I just can’t see you with facial piercing! However your smile will be beautiful enough without drawing extra attention to it!

  2. Yeah, I agree with Jody. I don’t see a facial piercing happening. Please don’t get a tongue piercing, they’re right up there with flip flops in my book! EWW!

  3. Heather says:

    You know me…I’m all about the piercings. You are lookin hot these days. Will you wear jeans for our lunch?

  4. Truly I can’t see you with a lip piecing…but if you are so inclinded, I say go for it! The tounge isn’t a bad idea…I have a few friends with this, it’s subtle and can be quite handy too when it comes to certain activities as I’m told;) In any case, you’re looking fa-bu-lous-and I can’t wait to see you with your completely new smile…this is so exciting for you!!!

Leave a Reply

