Some Like It Hot
I don’t know if it’s the really cold weather we’ve been having but lately I’ve been having trouble getting the water in my baths to be as hot as I like it to be. It’s not an entirely bad thing because I *should* be avoiding really hot water rather than soaking in it but tonight I knew that I needed a really hot bath (and a warm bed afterwards) so I took extra care in running the tub this evening, and brought the kettle upstairs with me just in case I needed to heat things up.

I like the water hot enough that I wince slightly when I slip into the water, and when it’s hot enough that the bathroom mirror fogs over. I love the bead of perspiration that collects on my upper lip, the slightly salty taste of it and the way that my hair curls at the base of my neck. I love the way my skins swells every so slightly from the heat, and the warmth that radiates from it when I get out of the tub.

I got the water just hot enough this evening, and when I added the boiling water to the tub, the water started to steam. I had lit candles and added oil to the water and when I got into the tub I did wince slightly at how hot the water was but at the same time I couldn’t wait to totally submerse myself. Having water the perfect temperature has been such a rarity lately that I vowed that I would stay in until the water cooled off but even that didn’t happen. When I got out of the tub 45 minutes later, the water was still hot but I was satisfied.

And if that wasn’t enough, I have a warm bed waiting for me. On a cold winter night when your tired and your body hurts, it doesn’t get any better than this.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

