I Miss My Husband
Last night I had plans to go for drinks/dinner with some friends from work, and as luck would have it, a big snow storm blew into the city mid-afternoon. Yesterday morning everyone was asking me if I wanted to cancel because of my commute, but because I was responsibile for cancelling and rescheduling the date we had picked in November, I told everyone no, I was prepared to go ahead (anticipating the storm I had packed a change of clothes and some pajamas and was prepared to stay at Laura’s, at her suggestion). So 5pm came and we all bundled up into our winter clothes and trekked up the street to the subway, me carrying my regular everyday bag plus my stuffed backpack. We got to the pub and settled in, sipping martinis and wine while we watched the snow falling outside the window.

All through dinner everyone kept commenting on how quiet I was being and if I was okay – and I was fine, I was happy to be there – the food was good, the company was great, the lychee liquer in my martini was yummy – but at the same time a part of my kept watching the snow outside and resenting it because all I wanted to do was go home and see my husband as soon as our dinner party broke up but I KNEW the roads would be a mess and I would spend at least a couple of hours getting home. It made perfect sense to go to Laura’s (who was only a few subway stops away) but still, I kept peeking at my watch to see how late it was getting and whether or not I could actually get a bus if I decided to go home.

Laura, who with much eery precision had interpreted my internal battle, explained my dilemma to our friends and I couldn’t help but look at her with a mixture of surprise and suspicion (I’m not used to people reading me so well) and then ducked my head in silent acknowledgement. Finally, with one desperate last look out the window I pulled my cell phone out to text message to Tay (who was Christmas shopping in the deserted shopping mall) to let him know that it was extremely unlikely that I would be meeting him at the mall as I had originally planned.

Honestly, even though I’ve been with Tay for over ten years, I don’t like being away from over night and I do miss him. I can’t really clearly recall the last evening we spent alone together – I’m assuming it was a week ago Thursday. We did have Sunday evening together but Tay was feeling slightly fluish all Sunday so he dozed on the sofa Sunday night while we watched a movie. I’m babysitting at Renu’s this evening, we have his work party tomorrow night, and our tree decorating party on Sunday. Monday we have poker supposedly and then Tay leaves on Tuesday (he is going to Vegas w Geo for a few days before flying into Halifax on Christmas Eve). As far as I can tell, our next opportunity to be alone together will be on Boxing Day, when we fly home in the morning to hit the sales (Last year Donato had a 50% off sale and I’m hoping they have a similiar sale this year…they carry Aveda!) and then we’re doing our own Christmas Eve that night (so that we can keep our own traditions).

Running Out of Time: Movie #6

I thinkElf is quite probably the best Christmas movie released in the past ten years. Even though I’ve seen it a few times now, there are still parts that make me laugh out loud, so much so that my sides hurts.

“I thought maybe we could make ginger bread houses, and eat cookie dough, and go ice skating, and maybe even hold hands. “

Sounds perfect to me :).

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

