Six Weeks Later
Tomorrow is my six week mark for my braces.

A couple of weeks ago I found a comment on my blog from a woman who was searching online for more information on braces/oral surgery, and she had mentioned that she had linked to my site. I checked out her website and spent some time reading up on her own experience – she’s still in the process of doing research and getting consultations done, but she had links on her website to other bloggers that had gotten braces and/or surgery.

So I spent some time reading about other people’s experience and while I gained some important insight and information about their experiences, perhaps what was most valuable to me was the knowledge that I wasn’t alone in my experience and that a lot of other people were experiencing the exact same things that I have.

My friends and family have been extremely supportive of my transition into braces and have extended every sympathy to me – but I don’t think they, or myself, had any idea how difficult of a transition it would be for me. The day I had my braces put on, the technician told me that the hardest thing I would have to cope with is the permanency of the situation – constantly feeling the braces, and knowing that I can’t remove them. And she was right, one of my worst experiences with my braces came the first night I had them on – I ended up laying down for a couple of hours shortly after I got home, and when I woke up, I was freaked out. Freaked out because I had forgotten about them, and freaked out because they were so obviously THERE, so obviously CEMENTED to my teeth and they were going to be so obviously there for the next 24 months. And finally, freaked out because I felt completely alone because I knew no one who had braces, no one who I could call up and say, “Hey, I don’t know if you felt this way when you had your braces, but this is how I feel and it’s FREAKING me out.”

Since then, I’ve come across the above-mentioned bloggers who are blogging about their ortho-experiences, and I’ve stumbled across a number of people who had braces at some point in their lives and I’m coming to realize that they are the best people to commiserate was because they get it. The nodding of their head, or their advice on how to deal with a particular ortho-challenge (having to brush five times a day, or being constantly hungry (at the beginning), or getting your tongue stuck in a bracket, or how to do certain things with your husband that you never, ever really gave much thought to) makes me feel unalone, and in some ways, that’s the best feeling in the world.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

