Now That I’m Hooked Again
Over the summer I was up and out the door by 6:30 for a run two, if not three work mornings and then again on both Saturday and Sunday. When TIFF came around, my work out scheduled got demolished for ten days and then it took me just over three weeks to regain the ground that I had lost.

Unfortunately, darkness is lingering later and later and it’s still fairly dark at 6am. I tried setting my alarm to get up for a run but when I wake up and don’t see the sun, I’m not able to push myself out the door because it feels too much like the middle of the night. I used to be able to do it when I worked out at the gym, but there’s a big difference in going to a nice, well lit gym and running through a park or streets that are all but deserted.

So then came the challenge of trying to find time to run since before work is no longer an option. I considered lunch hours, but I sweat pretty hard when I run (not to mention how red my face gets) and so not showering after I run isn’t much of an option. We have showers at work but there’s no private stalls and I’ve never been one to shower openly. So I’ve been trying to get out twice a week after work (and then at least once on the weekends) but some days it’s REALLY HARD especially when I’m falling asleep on the subway ride home.

The need to find a solution has become urgent though because I’m quickly finding that I’m getting hooked on running again and it’s essential for me to find the time to run. Sometime last week I started thinking about joining a gym again, and while at first I wasn’t sure if it was choice for me (I really like running outside now and would rather not take it back to the treadmill) but I’m starting to think that treadmill running would be better than the risk of not running at all.

So on Friday I stopped in the Goodlife near me to get some pricing and found out that I can use any of their gyms across Canada. Which means I can workout downtown during the workweek and use the Mississauga gyms on the weekend. They also have locations in all over the GTA so if we do end up moving next year, chances of me having a gym nearby are likely.

I hadn’t quite made up my mind regarding the gym until yesterday morning when I went for my run – it was a chilly 6 degrees, it started to spit rain, and as I ran, the wind seemed to constantly shift so that I was running into it. I ran my usual 30 minutes but by the time I got home I was COLD and DAMP and I still had to get changed and head back out for yoga.

I like to think that I can be very dedicated to working out when I set my mind to it, but if I’m going to be honest with myself, I’m very easily deterred. And thoughts of the temperature dropping to below zero and the sidewalks being covered with snow and ice and darkness looming come 5pm will all become deterrants to my running routine in the next couple of months.

So tomorrow, I’m taking my 3-day free pass and I’m going to swing by a Goodlife and see what it’s all about – but I have a pretty sure feeling that I’ll be a member by the end of the week.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

