So THIS Is What $6K Worth of Metal Feels Like
I’m not in any pain and some of the awkwardness is slowly subsiding. I had a bowl of soup for dinner and some beans and rice which Renu brought over – the beans and rice were a bit of a challenge, but I made out okay.

I slept for close to two hours this evening – after I finished at the orthodontist I went and did some errands at the mall and then had to get groceries – Tay is using my car on the weekend so I wanted to get everything done in advance. I couldn’t believe how tired I was by the time I got home but all things considered, it was a mentally draining day.

I was told that my teeth would feel sensitive (there is some sensitivity in my lower teeth) and that I might feel a dull throbbing pain if not by tonight then by tomorrow morning. It was recommended that I buy some Advil, which I did, but so far, no pain. My fingers are crossed that tomorrow will be the same.

Before my braces went on I was chatting with the woman who was putting them on about my nervousness – she wore braces for 2 years and had them put on when she was 32. She promised me that after I got used to them, I won’t even notice them and that the most difficult part is getting over the fact that they’re there permanently – and that I can’t simply remove them when it feels too weird. When I woke up from my nap this evening, I experienced some of what she was describing and it shook me a bit. All of a sudden two years seemed like an extremely long time and I wondered if I had made the right decision.

But I’m feeling better now – there were moments during the evening (sitting on the couch, knitting and watching TV) when I caught myself thinking that this wasn’t going to be so bad. It’s only when I have to eat that it’s a hassle so far – and apparently, I have to brush every time I eat, so I was told that I’m going to find myself snacking A LOT less.

Anyhow, I thought my vanity would keep me from posting a photo, but apparently I’m not as self-conscious as I thought. So voila, my new look for the next 18-24 months:

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

