Junior High All Over Again

In the past couple of months I’ve befriended a girl I work with – we’re the same age, we both got married last year, and prior to that, we’d been with our now-husbands for close to ten years. Through a lot of conversations over lunch and the holidays when it was pretty quiet at work we discovered that we share similiar views on a lot of issues (we’ve already discussed living together before marriage, abortion, homophobia/heterosexism). We’re sharing things with each other as well – last week, following a conversation about a movie she mentioned that she hadn’t seen, I brought her in my copy so she could borrow it. That same day, she gave me a little booklet on knitting that she had put together for me. Oh yeah, we both knit :).



Yesterday, she came into my office and told me that I should dress up today. When I gave her a quizzical look and asked her why, she explained that she wanted to wear a dress today and thought that I should do the same. I started to laugh because it so reminded me of how me and my friends used to do the exact same thing back in junior high school today. I told her I would do my best but unfortunately, the only tights I have are a) holey and b) have gone AWOL so I was unable to accomodate her request fully but I did compromise by wearing my khaki green shirt dress over a black tank top and olive green pants.



She, of course, wore a dress :).



BlogRolling

Sometimes, if I check a pal’s blog and there hasn’t been an update, I will take a peek at some of the blog links that they have along their sidebar. I believe this form of blog-browsing is referred to as ‘blogrolling’.



I’ve come across some interesting blogs this way and some some of them have become a regular stop for me, others, I rarely return to because they don’t interest me or I don’t like the style of writing or whatever.



The other day I stumbled across dooce and I’m intrigued for a number of reasons, but mostly because it’s very well written. It’s also about interesting things (like how in 2002 she was fired from her job for the work-related contented that she was posting on her website). My favorite entry so far has been today’s – a very poignant letter to her daughter on her first birthday.



You might find it worth checking out :).

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

