For the most part, due to high interest in the 2004 Olympics, I am on sporadic hiatus until further notice.

(But since I’m here… πŸ™‚

I like watching the Olympics – they’re inspiring and I like witnessing world champions beat records – olympic, world and personal (most of all). As much as I would like to see Canada do well in the Olympics, I harbor no ill will towards other countries for their achievements. Unlike some of my fellow Canadians, I don’t consider the US to be the ‘enemy’ – as someone who visits their beautiful country and takes advantage of their hospitality, I think of them proudly as our neighbor. When they win a gold medal, I don’t begrudge them their success. To me, the Olympics is about celebrating great athletes – not about celebrating great countries.

A number of great things happened in the Olympics last night:

– In Men’s gymnastics, Japan won their first gold medal since 1976 and the US team won silver, their first medal in 20 years.

– Three great swimmers competed head to head in the 200-meter freestyle;Ian Thorpe, Pieter van den Hoogenband and Michael Phelps won gold, silver and bronze medals, respectively.

– US competitor Natale Coughlin won her first gold medal in the 100m backstroke.

– Canada won their first medal in the 2004 Olympics, taking home bronze in the women’s 10-metre synchronized diving event.

Go Canada! πŸ™‚

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

