Two Years Ago Yesterday

Jago turned two yesterday, I went to their place last night armed to celebrate with Renu et al. We had his birthday cake and then I gave him his birthday present – a Fisher Price Ready Steady Ride On.

I’m thinking that he liked it :).



The plan after that had been to barbeque – Jai had made porkchops and wings – but he got out to the terrace only to discover that last time they had entertained, he had closed the propane tank too tight. We all fought to twist it open with no luck – I volunteered my tank and headed off with Renu to fetch ours, only when we got there, Renu and I couldn’t figure out how to remove it. So we called Jai – he told Renu to come back, he’d come and try. Jai came looked at it, asked for some tools. I searched for a wrench for him but found nothing – then finally assumed that Tay had taken his tool box to the track for the weekend (he’s been at Shannonville since Friday, returning tonight). Jai shook his head and laughed – said that we’d have to barbeque at my place. So he hopped in the car and went back to his place to fetch Renu while Jago and I cuddled on the hammock and looked at the stars. Ten minutes later, when Jai returned, armed with his meat and tongs and went out to hit the grill – only he didn’t realized that I had pulled the screen – he walked right into and sort of bounced off it. Fortunately he didn’t drop anything – after all that, how awful had he dropped it all on the floor!! 🙂

Rotten Neighbors

On Thursday night, my Dad ended up having to make a trip through Ontario – he decided to stop in Mississauga to see Tay and me. He parked the tractor-trailer on our street, he did his laundry, we ordered chinese food and Dad had a shower. Three hours later he left again only to discover a $100 parking ticket on the truck. It would appear that one of our neighbors had called and complained about the rig on the side of the street. Friendly neighborhood karma, hey? Dad called me Friday afternoon – and asked if I’d be willing to try and fight it for him. So Monday after work, I’m going to go to the address on the ticket and see what I can do. Stupid neighbors.

15km and back again?

On Friday morning, I decided to bike to work and leave Tay the car as he was leaving for Shannonville in the early afternoon – and Dad said that he was mostly likely going to be coming back through Mississauga – he could pick me up at work with my bike, go for lunch and then drop me back home. So I biked to work, all 15 kilometres – after the first couple I debated going back home as the sheer length of it just loomed before me but pressed on – only to get there and have dad call me 10 minutes after I arrived to tell me that he wasn’t coming back through after all. I hung up the phone and looked at my bike innocently resting against my cubicle and sighed heavily. But then, I went and chatted with Richard who lives just up the street from me – he offered to give me and my bike a ride home. Thank god for that – if he hadn’t, I’d probably still be on my way home! 🙂

Dancing Queens

On Friday night, Renu and a went out with a couple of girls that I know from work. Before meeting up with Renu, Joanne and I did shots of Baja Rosa (Strawberry Tequila liquer). Add those to a previous cooler and a cosmo and we were half in the bag before we even got to the bar. Renu picked us up (she got her license on Friday and has become Ms. Independence overnight! 🙂 🙂 and drove us back to her place since she basically lives right across the street from the bar. Friday night was ladies night so we walked right in – I’ve never been to this place but to eat so I was surprised by how crowded it was – I was almost expecting it to be somewhat dead. We hit the bar where Renu and I did a shot of tequila and a Smirnoff Ice to go (I was shocked at the bill – $25 for it all!) and then we hit the dance floor. I can’t even remember how long it’s been since I’ve been dancing, and I don’t think I’ve ever been out dancing being as drunk as I was Friday night. I don’t know how long we danced for – but we danced in a close group in the corner where Amanda quickly declared herself as the protector and would come twirl each of us away if she noticed any guys on the dance floor trying to get too close. I danced mostly with Renu – Joanne and Amanda kept drifting away to get more to drink but I quite clearly knew that I was at my limit so I declined anything else. Around 1 Renu decided she should go home – we sat outside for 15 minutes arguing because I wanted to walk her home and she wanted me to stay. Finally, in exasperation, I just started walking in the direction of her house and she eventually followed. Amanda and Joanne were watching from the patio as I crossed the street with Renu – once Renu got in the house, Amanda called my cell phone to assure that they were watching me, then Renu called and kept me on the phone as I made the short trip back across the street. Back inside the bar I couldn’t find Amanda and Jo – I pushed my way onto the dance floor where they said they’d be but it was packed – I stayed there for a few minutes and danced to BlackEyedPeas then headed back out to the patio. I must have looked somewhat lost as one of the bouncer guys asked me if I was okay – a few minutes later when I was still wandering he asked me if I found my friends. I thanked him for his concern – said I’d find them soon enough. Which I did – sitting on the edge of the dance floor and talking away with a group of guys. I grabbed a stool and just hung out – swaying to the music and happily showing my wedding rings to the different guys that came up to chat with me, which turned out to be a great deterrant! 🙂 Later in the evening, the same guy that had been asking me to dance came over and told me that he didn’t think that goodlooking married girls should come to the bar – that it wasn’t fair to the single guys. I laughed and when my cell phone rang just then, he glared at it and said, “That must be him!” I answered the call and wandered away – it was Doug, a guy I work with, who had meant to hook up with us earlier, wondering if we were still at the bar and should he come there. I said no, the bar was closing – so Amanda, Jo and I jumped in a cab and headed back to my place. We ordered a pizza and played karaoke in an attempt to sober up…at four we finally crawled off to bed.

On Saturday morning when Renu called to make sure we go home okay, I awoke with one of the worst hangovers in my short drinking life – my head hurt rather badly and I had nothing in the house for it – so Renu very quickly offered to jump in the car and bring me some. I crawled back into bed with my stomach churning – but the tylenol Renu gave me quickly helped, and when I awake at 12:30, I felt mostly fine.

Gah.



Sunday Brunch

1. How do you like your eggs? Either in an omelette, or scrambled.

2. What do you collect? Umm..not a serious collector of anything. Shoes? Lipbalm? Clothes?

3. Do you carry a purse, backpack or briefcase on a regular basis? If yes, does it contain only the essentials or a whole lot of everything? It’s not really a purse but a bag, black with an orange lining, with a number of inner pockets. It contains mostly essentials, but because there’s so much space it accumulates lots of stuff i don’t need – like old receipts and such.

4. When is the last time you’ve read a book, put together a puzzle, built something or did something crafty? The last book I read was Memoirs of a Geisha, I finished it Monday. And yesterday, I put together Jago’s bike.

5. What was the highlight of your weekend? Dancing Friday night was fun, but I’m really looking forward to Tay coming home this evening :).


This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

