Lost Soul

It’s been ten days since I’ve blogged and feels like much longer – when I’m not blogging, I really notice the absence; always at the back of my mind I know what I *should* be doing. But, I’ve been sick the past week (woke up Friday with a scratchy throat, Saturday morning I felt like I’d been chewing glass all night, Sunday had almost full symptoms – sore throat, sneezing, runny nose, aches and pains, dull constant headache.) On Tuesday, I received the final gift – a hacking cough that made me talk with a raspy voice for days 6 & 7 that were remaining. Today – I feel almost 100% – probably 90%. Not well enough that I’m up for running a couple of miles, but well enough to blog. So here I am :).

One of two alarms woke me at 7 this morning – my intent was to get up at 8 and forget the other alarm would go off. After laying in bed for 20 minutes trying to coax myself back to sleep I got up – even though it had been 1 by the time I got to bed and I had trouble falling asleep. I’m glad I rousted myself up – it’s a beautiful day, sunlight is filtering in through the window and a cool breeze occasionally finds its way in through the window – we had temperatures of ~ 24 yesterday, today 22 is predicted. Tay and Stacy are still asleep and so the house is perfectly quiet. I’ve been searching for a moment like this in the past couple of hectic weeks and it’s worth more than the 40 minutes of sleep that I could have had :).

(Stacy arrived yesterday afternoon – so begins HER journey to Vegas, with a 5 day long weekend in TO beforehand :).

The next few days will be devoted to getting ready for Vegas, as have the past few – Tay and I had our haircuts on Monday, the tanning continues, yesterday I had my eyebrows waxed and then treated both Stacy and myself to manicures (her first). Thank god for our esthetician, I do believe she might have saved my dry, brittle nails! 🙂 Today is my spa day with Irene – boy, have I been waiting for this day!! We’re making the drive up to beautiful Hockley Valley, which is about 45 minutes up north. Our day includes an hour massage (which I can claim under my health benefits ;), a facial and pedicure. After claiming the massage, I will mostly only be paying for the taxes and tip of this luxurious day – Irene is treating my to the pedicure and combined money from work will mostly pay for my facial. Utterly fantastic, I say :).

Poor Little Jago

Poor little Jago has been sick for at least a week now – Saturday night Renu and Jai had to take him to the hospital because he was so dehydrated from the virus that was attacking his body – they hooked him up to an IV – in less than a day he went through 6 bags of solution. The doctors ended up keeping him until late Tuesday morning because of his condition – when they did blood work they discovered he was also badly anemic. He’s home now, recovering (as is Renu, who diligently stayed at his side for the three days he was hospitalized. I haven’t had the chance to see him – didn’t want to go near the hospital while being sick and were just waiting now for a full recovery for Jago as his virus is definitely contagious. Hopefully I will get to see them before I leave on Monday morning :(.

Weekly WeighIn

This morning when I weighed in (and for the third morning in a row) the scale has declared that I am 150lbs. I am triumphant! 🙂 Right on schedule, I am at the weight that I wanted to be for the wedding – since January of this year, I have lost a total of 17lbs which averages out to about a lb a week, so not only was my carefully eating and vigorous exercising successful, it was also healthy as well – and since I did it so slowly, I’m more likely to keep the weight off (which is the plan). Being sick the past week and not eating much probably helped me to take off those last couple of pounds – so perhaps I might not have made it without the sickness thrown in, I’m aware of that…but regardless… I am 150lbs. Earlier this week Daniel had mentioned to me that he could see how much weight I had lost – and how good I looked. And Cathy yesterday asked me if was losing even more weight, I believe her words were “Have you stopped eating altogether?” 🙂 It’s nice to get recognized for my efforts – Stephanie was congratulating me this week and commenting on how hard I worked – but in retrospect it wasn’t a lot of hard work – it was just a ton of disclipline – which, for some people, is the same thing I guess :).

(Sidenote: When we went shopping (again) at Mexx last week – I ended up with a skirt, dress and shirt. The sizes? 8, 8 and M. Me!! 8!!! Yahoo! 🙂 ).

Thursday Threesome

Onesome: Goodie– What is your your favorite “goodie” you treat yourself to when you’ve finished a project or maybe even just survived a long day? Ice cream? …a long bath? …a good book? Lip balm or lipstick. Or shower gel.

Twosome: Two– Quick! Two things that make you smile! No thinking, just write!Taylor and Renu.

Threesome: Shoes– …and how about your favorite pair of shoes? You know, the ones you look for an occasion to wear! (Yes, guys that ratty pair of tennis shoes does count…)I’m loving my new Birks and my wedding shoes, but I still have a soft spot for my strappy black Nine West sandals that I got last year.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

