Quote of the Day:

“When she raises her eyelids it’s as if she were taking off all her clothes.” ~ Colette

Song of the Day:

Your Body Is a Wonderland ~ John Mayer

And Life Resumes…

TIFF ended yesterday – Dawn flew home this afternoon. This crazy week of movies, directors and celebrities, long lineups, fast-food has come to an end. It’s the same as every year, the routine exhausts me; when it ends, I miss it. It was particularily sad being at the Uptown yesterday – it was the last day for showing movies at this theatre – it is being torn down to make way for more condominiums – just what Toronto needs more of ;). There’s an article on the Uptown on page 2 in the TIFF daily; you can read about it here.

Still recovering from the toll that TIFF took on my body – after dropping Dawn at the airport I didn’t do very much. I’m reading While I Was Gone, by Sue Miller; spend much time on the sofa lost in her world. Ventured out for some of the staples that we ran out of while TIFFing – it was one of those overcast days; I pulled on jeans, a t-shirt, an old sweater and flipflops and headed out. It was reminiscient of my university days and so I was nostalgic a bit. There’s a feel to the air of fall which makes me think of school and textbooks, writing papers. And snuggling in with cozy sweaters and comfy socks. I love this time of year, the crispness to the air, the smell of the world changing. I made chili for dinner tonight – it just seemed to be the perfect choice :).

After too many years of Dawn and I never seeming to have enough time with each other, the pass week was blissful; I realized this week how much I have missed her; but I’ve also realized just how true our friendship is. We can pick up just where we left off, whether it’s been years, months or merely days. I enjoyed having her here for the week, having her spend time with Tay and get to know him better. I found myself watching her this week, and thinking how beautiful she is; how protective I feel for her, and the tenderness that fills me when I watch her unnoticed. I miss her already :).

The Final Movies

Wonderland

Nathalie…

The BreadMaker

Gozu

Nine Souls

Man of the Year

Good Morning, Night

Shattered Glass

(Comments on these may come later; too tired to do so now :).

Total movies at TIFF for 2003: 20

Friday Five on Sunday

1. Is the name you have now the same name that’s on your birth certificate? If not, what’s changed? It’s exactly the same.

2. If you could change your name (first, middle and/or last), what would it be? I wouldn’t change my name – my name is part of who I am, I don’t understand people who change their name (unless they get married).

3. Why were you named what you were? (Is there a story behind it? Who specifically was responsible for naming you?) My mother chose Tawny; she heard the name and liked it so much, she chose it for me.

4. Are there any names you really hate or love? What are they and why? I always notice names – it’s part of being a writer. You hear a name you love and make a mental note of it for future characters. I’ve recently been smitten by the name Elias (Eli).

5. Is the analysis of your name at kabalarians.com / triggur.org / astroexpert accurate? How or how isn’t it?

From Kabalarians:

Your name of Tawny gives you the ability to be creative along practical lines of endeavour. Your ideas can be very original and inventive. You enjoy being with people in a social environment. Your personal appearance is important to you, for you desire to make a good impression on others. Your pleasant manner attracts people to you with their problems and you are capable of offering practical advice, though you would probably not follow such advice yourself. This name causes you to be somewhat too concerned with the personalities, problems, and activities of other people. You seem positive and decisive and can be outspoken in the expression of your opinions, but you lack the self-confidence needed to follow through with your ideas and plans. Procrastination is your downfall. You frequently choose the path of least resistance to avoid your responsibilities. It is not easy for you to overcome obstacles or face issues. This name does you an injustice in that it restricts your success in business and personal pursuits through a lack of ambition.

Uncanny.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

